Click on the picture to enlarge
 
Home page
Who are we ?
Courses of philosophy, coaching
Books
Artistic activities
CD organ
Photo gallery
To make a retreat
Cultural evenings
Access
Contact
Foundation of the Liboson

Books

 

Back cover
The life of Paul du Marchie van Voorthuysen is an uninterrupted succession of events and unusual encounters. Born in 1923, he passed his childhood in a castle, and then stayed in great luxury hotels during a part of his youth. When his parents were financially ruined by the war, he interrupted his studies of medicine and started a life of roaming. He lived with nomads in the Sahara Desert and in the monasteries of Mount Athos. In Egypt, the ancient civilization of the Pharaohs fascinated him. In India, he wandered through places of high spirituality, searching for the mystery that is hidden behind all things. He met on his way many surprising people. Human exchange, so essential to him, will find unexpected possibilities within the house he built with his own hands in the Swiss Alps in a medieval style in order to create a cultural center.
This book develops many thoughts connected with the events of his life. As in a fugue by Bach, a theme is developed, always the same: the great vertigo of the thought, the marvellous dazzling in front of existence. More than a philosophy, he presents to the reader a style of life, where the most rigorous science is mixed with a mystic attitude. He praises the faculty of doubting, the joy of incertitude. Is this an atheistic or a religious book? Each reader will have to decide for himself...

***

Price : 37.- CHF, plus postal charges
Available exclusively through the Liboson, see Contact or Order

***

Extract
I grope in the dark to find a matchbox in order to light a little fire in the fireplace ; a performance that I manage successfully at three o’clock in the morning with my eyes hardly open. There, in front of the fire, Sophie and I are going to speak until dawn. To see the brilliance of intelligence sparkling on such a beautiful face would already be enough to give an exceptional value to this long night.
While looking at the flickering flames, my thoughts go to Jean-François Champollion, a man of science who has opened the way to those who were going to discover the secrets of ancient Egypt. « Enthusiasm is the secret of real life » he used to say. In this room with its heavy beams blackened by the smoke, I contemplate the face of Sophie, motionless, illuminated by the glowing of the red coals. Her face expresses just the contrary of peaceful bliss or tranquil self-contentment. I can read in her features an energy that is ready to encounter the unknown with a joyful restlessness that characterizes the nobleness of the mind. Everything during this night can only but banish all that could flatter our inclination towards easy solutions. Only the most merciless ways seem to me to be worthy of this austere place.
Page 184

Cliquer sur l'image pour agrandir
 
Accueil
Qui sommes-nous ?
Cours de philosophie, coaching
Livres
Activités artistiques
CD orgue
Galerie photos
Faire une retraite
Soirées culturelles
Accès
Contact
Fondation du Liboson

Livres

 

Couverture
La vie de Paul du Marchie van Voorthuysen est une suite ininterrompue d’événements et de rencontres insolites. Né en 1923, il a passé son enfance dans un château, puis il a séjourné durant une partie de sa jeunesse dans des palace-hôtels. Lorsque ses parents sont ruinés par la guerre, il interrompt ses études de médecine et commence alors une vie errante. Il vivra avec les nomades du Sahara et dans les monastères du Mont Athos; en Egypte il se passionnera pour l’ancienne civilisation des pharaons et en Inde il parcourra les hauts lieux spirituels à la recherche du mystère qui se cache derrière toute chose. Il croisera sur sa route nombre de personnes surprenantes. L’échange humain, si essentiel à ses yeux, trouvera une expression inattendue dans la maison qu’il a bâtie de ses mains dans un style moyenâgeux pour en faire un centre culturel.
Ce livre développe des réflexions mêlées aux événements de sa vie. Comme dans une fugue de Bach, un thème est développé, toujours le même, celui du vertige de la pensée, de l’émerveillement face à l’existence. Plus qu’une philosophie, il nous présente un style de vie où la science la plus rigoureuse se mêle à une attitude mystique. Il fait l’éloge du doute, de la joie de l’incertitude. Est-ce un livre athée ou un livre religieux? A chacun de décider...

***

Prix : 37.- CHF, port en plus
Livre disponible seulement au Liboson, voir Contact ou Commander

***

Extrait
Je tâtonne dans le noir pour trouver la boîte d’allumettes pour faire un petit feu dans l’âtre, performance que je réussis à trois heures du matin, les yeux encore à peine ouverts. C’est là, devant le feu, que Sophie et moi parlerons jusqu’à l’aube. Voir l’ardeur de l’intelligence briller sur un si beau visage suffirait déjà à donner toute sa valeur à une telle nuit!
En regardant les flammes vacillantes, je pense à Champollion, ce savant qui a ouvert la voie à ceux qui allaient découvrir les secrets de l’ancienne Egypte. « L’enthousiasme est le secret de la vraie vie » disait-il souvent. Dans cette pièce aux lourdes poutres noircies par la fumée, je contemple le visage de Sophie, immobile, illuminé par la lueur du brasier. Il exprime tout le contraire d’une béatitude paisible ou d’une suffisance tranquille. Je lis sur ses traits une énergie prête à affronter l’inconnu avec cette joyeuse inquiétude qui caractérise la noblesse de l’esprit. Tout ici, cette nuit, ne peut que bannir tout ce qui pourrait flatter notre sens de la facilité. Seules les voies les plus impitoyables me semblent dignes de ce lieu austère.
Page 230